Fishing

Lakes


Glenwood Area fisheries

Minnesota map showing Glenwood location

23070 North Lakeshore Drive
Glenwood, MN 56334
320-634-7321
glenwood.fisheries@state.mn.us

Anglers who fish in Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens and portions of Todd county benefit from the management, habitat and oversight work of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' Glenwood area fisheries staff.

Area Fisheries Supervisor Dean Beck and a staff of five full-time employees manage 82 fishing lakes and 180 miles of rivers anLicense Dollars At Workd streams. These waters include popular fishing lakes such as Osakis, Miltona and Minnewaska and maintaining muskellunge populations in Lobster, Miltona and Oscar lakes.

  • What we do
  • Area highlights
  • Area staff

At work for you

Glenwood area fisheries staff conduct shoreline seining to support the MPCA's watershed restoration and protection strategy diagnostic studies.

Glenwood area fisheries staff conduct shoreline seining to support the MPCA's watershed restoration and protection strategy diagnostic studies.

  • Assisting spring walleye egg take operations around the state, hatching millions of walleye at the Glenwood hatchery each year, and rearing thousands of pounds of walleye fingerlings in natural ponds for stocking regional waters.
  • Conducting 20-25 surveys or targeted assessments each year to monitor fish populations and assess the effectiveness of management actions such as stocking and special regulations.
  • Assisting the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency with watershed health assessments and fish contaminant testing.
  • Participating and supporting lake associations and local government agencies in measuring and monitoring changes in water clarity and quality of lakes and streams.
  • Assisting private fish growers with meeting compliance for commercial fish production, including inspection of loads prior to transportation and stocking at the destination lake.
  • Hosting school tours during seasonal hatchery operations, and supporting teachers and outdoor educators in curricula development and biological sciences learning events.

Contact our Glenwood staff

Name
Position
Phone
Email
Dean Beck Area supervisor 320-634-7323 dean.beck@state.mn.us
Sue Mulville Office administrative assistant 320-634-7322 sue.mulville@state.mn.us
Bill McKibbin Assistant area supervisor 320-634-7324 bill.mckibbin@state.mn.us
Lindy Ekola Habitat specialist 320-634-7332 lindy.ekola@state.mn.us
Jerry Wendlandt Aquatic plant management specialist 320-634-7333 jerry.wendlandt@state.mn.us
Michelle Krecklau Fisheries technician 320-634-7331 michelle.krecklau@state.mn.us
Mike McInerny Research biologist 320-634-7329 mike.mcinerny@state.mn.us
Jeff Reed Research biologist 320-634-7330 jeff.reed@state.mn.us
Al Schmidt Fisheries specialist 320-634-7327 al.schmidt@state.mn.us
Chris Smith Fisheries specialist 320-634-7326 chris.smith@state.mn.us
Chris Uphoff Fisheries specialist 320-634-7325 chris.uphoff@state.mn.us